Assassin’s Creed Series 2007 to 2015 – Which One Is Your Favourite?

Ubisoft has made a number of games in its Assassin’s Creed series which started way back in November 2007 and spans some 9 years culminating in the most recent release of Assassin’s Creed Syndicate which was unleashed on October 23rd 2015. The series has had its ups and downs and features a number of characters spanning the ages making it a hard choice to pick a favourite especially if you take into considering whether the setting sways it for you or the lead character. A lot of gamers are almost unanimous in their praise for Ezio Auditore the Italian killer who first appeared in Assassin’s Creed II and subsequent spin-offs, although the Original Altaïr ibn-La’Ahad character was well realised as a rogue falling from grace but remaining the master assassin. Assassin’s Creed III changed the course a little when players controlling two main heroes Haytham Kenway and his Son Conner although for many this game didn’t gel as well as the games featuring Ezio. All three characters were played by Desmond Miles in the alternate universe although this ended with the arrival of the later games where players assumed the role of an Abstergo Industries player where the connection to the real world outside of the time travelling Animus device became less important. Black Flag in 2013 was heralded as an excellent addition to the franchise despite feeling more pirate than assassin and the often overlooked Rogue cemented itself as one the best stories of the series. The re-release of Assassin’s Creed III Liberation HD pandered to the console and PC audience with the first female lead assassin character Aveline taking the helm. Technical problems plagued the release of Assassin’s Creed Unity which was perhaps an over ambitious project in pushing the game engine to the breaking point with its reliance of masses of NPCs. The latest game Assassin’s Creed Syndicate set in Victorian London is still fresh in the hearts and minds of gamers and is perhaps too early for some to say where this sits in relation to the others. Either way, if we’re to offer an opinion then Black Flag is certainly up there at the top somewhere as we loved the the naval combat, Edward Kenway character and the lush visuals of the Caribbean.

The games in the Assassin’s Creed Series 2007 -2015

Assassin’s Creed 2007
Assassin’s Creed: Altaïr’s Chronicles 2008
Assassin’s Creed: Bloodlines 2009
Assassin’s Creed II 2009
Assassin’s Creed II: Discovery 2009
Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood 2010
Assassin’s Creed: Revelations 2011
Assassin’s Creed III 2012
Assassin’s Creed III: Liberation 2012
Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag 2013
Assassin’s Creed Rogue 2014
Assassin’s Creed Identity
Assassin’s Creed Unity 2014
Assassin’s Creed Chronicles: China 2015
Assassin’s Creed Syndicate 2015

Written by: Rob Cram

Rob Cram has hundreds of video game reviews, thousands of articles under his belt with years of experience in gaming and tech. He aims to remain fair and free from publisher/developer influence. With his extensive knowledge, feels his gaming opinions are valid and worth sharing. Agreement with his views are entirely optional. He might have a bias towards cyberpunk.